Event $2 million cost of shocking 12-month Essendon implosion 'nobody would have seen coming' Nine.com.au 7h ago Read →

New Restaurants and Cafes in and Around Cremorne

Oscar Wright March 22, 2026
X Facebook LinkedIn
A hand holding a glass under a bar tap as beer pours in
Photo by Josh Olalde on Unsplash (Unsplash License)

Correction (1 October 2026): an earlier version of this page described meals and atmosphere first-hand, gave opening dates that do not match published reports and prices we could not source, and carried an unexplained “vibe score” and a rumoured pipeline of openings. It has been rewritten. Every opening below names its source and the date of that source, and nothing first reported more than about six months ago is counted as new.

The newest openings in Cremorne, Melbourne, as of 1 October 2026, are a reopened pub and a new cafe: the Cherry Tree Hotel on Balmain Street reopened under new owners after a six-month renovation, reported by Broadsheet on 22 July, and Code Black Coffee opened on the corner of Fitzgibbon and Dover streets, reported by Concrete Playground on 29 July. Over Swan Street in Richmond, two Italian kitchens have arrived since May: Spaghetti Club and Remo’s Pasta & Tiramisu.

This is Cremorne, VIC 3121, the pocket Wikipedia describes as bounded by the Yarra River, Punt Road, Swan and Church streets, not Cremorne in Sydney. Each entry has a status line, the source and its date, the opening date where one was announced, and what the site was before where the record says. Confirmed means the venue’s own website shows it at the address; Reported means only a publication says so.

The quick list

OpeningWhereSource and dateStatus
Cherry Tree Hotel (reopened)53 Balmain St, CremorneBroadsheet, 22 Jul 2026Confirmed
Code Black CoffeeCnr Fitzgibbon and Dover St, CremorneConcrete Playground, 29 Jul 2026Confirmed
Spaghetti Club95 Swan St, RichmondBroadsheet, 13 May 2026Confirmed
Remo’s Pasta & Tiramisu167 Swan St, RichmondBroadsheet, 26 Jun 2026Confirmed
KICStudio (fitness)93 Cubitt St, CremorneBroadsheet, 15 Apr 2026Confirmed
Fluffy Torpedo454 Church St, RichmondBroadsheet, 28 Sep 2026Reported

Cherry Tree Hotel — 53 Balmain St, Cremorne VIC 3121

A plate of crumbed schnitzel with chips, coleslaw and a creamy sauce Illustrative photo. Photo by mahsa shamshiri fard on Unsplash

Status: Confirmed. A relaunch, not a new venue. The pub’s own site gives 53 Balmain St, Cremorne VIC 3121, and posts its current food menu.

Source and date: Broadsheet, published 22 July 2026, reported that after a six-month renovation the Cherry Tree “has reopened under new ownership and a complete redesign from Studio Y”. Broadsheet reported the sale and refit on 8 May 2026.

Opening date: not announced in the sources we read. Broadsheet’s report of 21 May 2026 gave June as the target.

In the former: itself. Broadsheet dates the pub to the mid-1800s and reports it changed hands in December 2025.

The new owners are head chef Dan Hilton (The Graham Hotel, The Leveson, The Wayside Inn) and Keith Gallacher, according to Broadsheet, which also reports no bookings in the front bar and no public holiday surcharges. On the pub’s own food menu, the chicken parmigiana is $29, the chicken schnitzel $27 with a choice of peppercorn sauce, mushroom sauce or garlic butter, the Sher Wagyu cheeseburger $26, and three Welsh rarebit croquettes $17. The site lists hours of 11am to 11pm Sunday to Thursday, and 11am till late on Friday and Saturday.

Code Black Coffee — Cnr Fitzgibbon and Dover St, Cremorne VIC 3121

A hand pouring cream into a glass of iced coffee on a wooden board Illustrative photo. Photo by tabitha turner on Unsplash

Status: Confirmed. Code Black’s own site lists a Cremorne cafe “On the corner of Fitzgibbon and Dover Street”.

Source and date: Concrete Playground, published 29 July 2026, reported the opening. Broadsheet included it in its new cafes roundup published 15 September 2026.

Opening date: not announced in the sources we read.

In the former: not stated in the sources we read.

Code Black is a Brunswick roaster; Broadsheet credits the black, metallic fit-out to the design studio We Are Humble. On the Cremorne menu posted on its site, a coffee is $6.00, the Dirty Pistachio (a double ristretto with pandan, pistachio coconut milk and panela cream) is $13.50, and baklava muesli with whipped yoghurt and apricots is $18.00. The menu notes a 12% surcharge on weekends. Hours on its site are 7am to 4pm Monday to Friday, and 7.30am to 3.30pm on weekends.

Spaghetti Club — 95 Swan St, Richmond VIC 3121

A dish of baked lasagne beside a plated slice and a bowl of cherry tomatoes Illustrative photo. Photo by Parnis Azimi on Unsplash

Status: Confirmed. Its own site gives 95 Swan St, Richmond VIC 3121, and reads “EST. 2026”.

Source and date: Broadsheet, published 13 May 2026, called it Mamas Dining Group’s new Richmond spot.

Opening date: not announced in the sources we read.

In the former: not stated in the sources we read.

It is the first Italian restaurant from the group behind Disuko and Hochi Mama, Broadsheet reports, built around recipes from co-owner Lucas Gugliandolo’s late grandfather and run in the kitchen by head chef Michael Flemming. Broadsheet names nonno’s lasagne and ricotta-filled cannoli among the dishes taken most directly from the family recipe book. On the menus posted on its site, cacio e pepe arancini are $18 for two, Nonna’s tiramisu is $16, and “Nonno’s Table” (two smalls, two larger dishes and a side) is $59 per person for two to six guests. The food menu lists a 10% surcharge on weekends.

Remo’s Pasta & Tiramisu — 167 Swan St, Richmond VIC 3121

Rigatoni carbonara topped with crisp guanciale and grated cheese Illustrative photo. Photo by Moira Nazzari on Unsplash

Status: Confirmed. Its own site lists two addresses: 198 Little Collins Street in the city, and 167 Swan Street, Richmond.

Source and date: Broadsheet, published 26 June 2026, reported the Little Collins Street pasta bar had expanded to Richmond.

Opening date: not announced in the sources we read.

In the former: not stated in the sources we read.

Founder Remo Nicolini runs a Roman-leaning pasta list, and Broadsheet describes the Swan Street shop as a 40-seat room with a bigger kitchen than the city original, plus Richmond-only extras such as a Snickers tiramisu. Broadsheet reports every tiramisu is gluten free. On the menu posted on Remo’s website, spaghetti cacio e pepe is $15, rigatoni carbonara $17, and a classic tiramisu $8. Broadsheet lists hours of Monday to Saturday, 11.30am to 8pm.

Also opened or reported nearby

  • KICStudio, 93 Cubitt Street, Cremorne. Not food: the first studio from Steph Claire Smith and Laura Henshaw’s Kic brand. Broadsheet (15 April 2026) and Concrete Playground (2 April 2026) gave the opening as Saturday 18 April. Its own booking page lists the Cubitt Street address.
  • Fluffy Torpedo, 454 Church Street, Richmond. Status: Reported. Broadsheet, published 28 September 2026, reported the ice-creamery’s third shop, on Church Street, one of Cremorne’s boundary streets. The stores page on its own site did not list Richmond yet when we checked.
  • OnAir, 25 Stephenson Street, Cremorne. Not new: Concrete Playground reported it open on 3 April 2025. As of 1 October 2026 its own site reads “Something new coming soon” and describes “cafe by day, drinks at night”, with hours to late Wednesday to Saturday. No date announced.

Not counted as new

The earlier version of this page listed OnAir, Baker Bleu, Suupaa and Sogumm as recent openings. None of them is new: Concrete Playground reported Baker Bleu’s Cremorne cafe open on 29 January 2025 and Suupaa open on 7 April 2025, and Broadsheet’s first look at OnAir was published on 27 March 2025. Amatrice’s first look ran in Broadsheet on 12 September 2024, and Roti John’s on 18 August 2025. Broadsheet’s directory entry for Sogumm, at 466 Church Street, was last updated on 23 June 2025. All are older than this page’s six-month window. We found no dated source for an opening at “134 Cubitt Street” by a “Cafe Decjuba x St. Ali”, which the old page listed, so it is gone.

Quick answers

What new restaurants have opened in Cremorne?

As of 1 October 2026: the Cherry Tree Hotel at 53 Balmain Street reopened after a six-month renovation (Broadsheet, 22 July 2026), and Code Black Coffee opened at the corner of Fitzgibbon and Dover streets (Concrete Playground, 29 July 2026). Just over Swan Street in Richmond, Spaghetti Club (95 Swan Street, reported by Broadsheet in May 2026) and Remo’s Pasta & Tiramisu (167 Swan Street, reported in June 2026) are the newest Italian options.

Is there a new cafe in Cremorne?

Yes. Code Black Coffee’s Cremorne cafe, on the corner of Fitzgibbon and Dover streets, was reported open by Concrete Playground on 29 July 2026. Its own menu lists a coffee at $6.00 and its Dirty Pistachio at $13.50.

Is there a new Italian restaurant near Cremorne?

Two, both on the Richmond side of Swan Street: Spaghetti Club at 95 Swan Street (Broadsheet, 13 May 2026), and Remo’s Pasta & Tiramisu at 167 Swan Street (Broadsheet, 26 June 2026), where the menu on its website lists spaghetti cacio e pepe at $15.

Has the Cherry Tree Hotel in Cremorne reopened?

Yes. Broadsheet reported on 22 July 2026 that the pub at 53 Balmain Street has reopened under new ownership after a six-month renovation. Its own food menu lists the chicken parmigiana at $29.

Is there a cafe with DJs in Cremorne?

OnAir, 25 Stephenson Street, is the music-led cafe Concrete Playground reported open in April 2025. On 1 October 2026 its own website said “Something new coming soon” and described “cafe by day, drinks at night”; no date was announced.

How we checked

On 1 October 2026 we read each venue’s own website to confirm it trades at the address, then dated each opening from a published source: Broadsheet and Concrete Playground articles, each dated in its byline. Where a source gave an opening day we print it; where none did, we say “not announced”. Prices come only from menus posted on each venue’s own website. Remo’s menu is an image, so its prices were read from that image and copied exactly. An opening counts as new here only if its first dated report is from roughly the last six months. Cremorne’s boundaries are from Wikipedia. The photos are illustrative, from Unsplash: they show the kind of food or drink, not the venue’s own.

Seen an opening or closure we have missed? Email [email protected] with the page link and a source, and we will check it.

Last checked: 1 October 2026.

Sources

Share this X Facebook LinkedIn

More from Cremorne

All Cremorne stories →