Event $2 million cost of shocking 12-month Essendon implosion 'nobody would have seen coming' Nine.com.au 7h ago Read →

Best Coffee in Kew: Roasters Named, Hours Checked

Dani Rossi February 28, 2026
X Facebook LinkedIn
Iced black coffee beside orange juice on a table
Photo by Anshu A on Unsplash (Unsplash License)

Correction (2 October 2026): an earlier version of this page listed places and details we could not stand behind. It has been rewritten, and every place below was checked against its own current information.

Every place on this list gets the same first question: does it name its roaster somewhere public? Two do, in what we read. Kuche lists Seven Seeds on its own website, and an AGFG listing names Allpress for Willo. Ora, Briquettes and Laurent don’t name a roaster in the pages we read, so they say “not stated” rather than a guess.

We could copy no coffee price from any of the five. The only prices on this page are Laurent’s pastries, taken from its chain-wide online menu. What follows is hours, roasters and the facts the venues publish. The quality in the cup isn’t something a page can tell you.

The quick picks

If you’re afterHead toRoasterHours as listed
A roaster named on the cafe’s own siteKuche (Kew East)Seven SeedsMon-Fri 7.00 am - 4.00 pm
An Allpress stopWillo CafeAllpress (AGFG listing)7:00 AM - 2:00 PM Mon-Fri
The earliest startBriquettes CafeNot statedMon-Fri 6am - 12.30pm
Specialty coffee with a kitchenOra KewNot statedMon-Fri 7AM - 3PM
Coffee with pastryLaurent BakeryNot statedMon-Fri 7:00am - 4:30pm

Ora Kew — 156 Pakington Street, Kew VIC 3101

Roaster: not stated.

Ora’s own site describes “Specialty coffee, fresh seasonal breakfast and lunch menu” and says it has been a Kew coffee institution for over a decade. Weekdays it is open 7AM to 3PM, weekends 8AM to 3PM, with the kitchen closing at 2.00pm both ways, so the last hour runs without the kitchen. Its menus are images, so we could copy no drink prices.

Go for: the specialty coffee; read the board for the roaster.

Willo Cafe — 56 Willsmere Road, Kew VIC 3101

Roaster: Allpress, per the AGFG listing.

Willo has no website that we could find, so this entry rests on listings. AGFG gives Monday to Friday 7:00 AM to 2:00 PM, Saturday 7:30 AM to 2:00 PM and Sunday 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM, and names Allpress Coffee. No drink prices were captured.

Go for: the Allpress that AGFG lists. If you want something with it, AGFG also lists the Willo Roll, served on a brioche bun.

Kuche — 682 High Street, Kew East VIC 3102

Roasted coffee beans in an open drum roaster Illustrative photo. Photo by René Porter on Unsplash

Roaster: Seven Seeds, per Kuche’s own site.

Kew East rather than Kew proper. The site lists “Seven Seeds Specialty coffee”, with hours of Monday to Friday 7.00 am to 4.00 pm and Saturday 8.00 am to 3.00 pm, closed public holidays. It also says it caters to gluten free, vegan and vegetarian, dairy free, nut free and low FODMAP requirements. The menu is published as images, so no prices were copied.

Go for: a Seven Seeds coffee. Of the five places here, it’s the only one whose own website names its roaster in the pages we read.

Briquettes Cafe — 6 Harp Road, Kew VIC 3101

Roaster: not stated.

This is a morning-only cafe, going by its hours. Its own Linktree page lists Monday to Friday 6am to 12.30pm, Saturday 6.30am to 12.30pm and Sunday 7am to 12pm. Restaurant Guru shows outdoor seating and takeaway as listing features, which is aggregator data and not a statement from the cafe. We found no menu text, so no prices.

Go for: the 6am weekday start, which is the earliest listed hour on this page.

Laurent Bakery — 251 High Street, Kew VIC 3101

Roaster: not stated.

A bakery and patisserie, with the Kew branch listed Monday to Friday 7:00am to 4:30pm and Saturday to Sunday 8:00am to 4:30pm. We did not capture a coffee list for Laurent, so check what it pours. Its chain-wide online menu (not Kew-specific) lists a plain croissant at $5.90, a pain au chocolat (croissant dough rolled around chocolate) at $7.30 and a chocolate éclair at $8.60.

Go for: the plain croissant, $5.90, as the pastry to pair with whatever you order.

Quick answers

Which Kew cafes name their coffee roaster?

Kuche lists Seven Seeds on its own website, and an AGFG listing names Allpress for Willo Cafe. Ora, Briquettes and Laurent don’t name a roaster in the pages we read.

Which Kew coffee stop opens earliest?

Of the five on this page, Briquettes Cafe, 6 Harp Road, lists the earliest start: 6am Monday to Friday on its own Linktree page, closing at 12.30pm.

Where can I get a pastry with my coffee in Kew?

Laurent Bakery, 251 High Street, lists pastries on its chain-wide menu: a plain croissant at $5.90, a pain au chocolat at $7.30 and a chocolate éclair at $8.60. We did not capture its coffee list.

Do any of these cafes publish a coffee price?

None that we could copy. Ora’s and Kuche’s menus are images, and for Willo, Briquettes and Laurent we captured no coffee prices.

How we checked

On 2 October 2026 we read Kuche’s, Ora’s and Laurent’s own websites and Briquettes’ own Linktree page, and confirmed each address at a second source: OpenStreetMap, Restaurant Guru or Laurent’s locations page. Willo has no website that we could find, so its address and hours come from AGFG, Restaurant Guru and OpenStreetMap listings. Laurent’s prices are from its chain-wide menu page, and menus change. The photos are illustrative, from Unsplash: they show the kind of scene, not these venues.

Seen something out of date? Email [email protected] with the page link and what has changed, and we will check it again.

Sources

Share this X Facebook LinkedIn

More from Kew

All Kew stories →