Correction (2 October 2026): an earlier version of this page listed places and details we could not stand behind. It has been rewritten, and every place below was checked against its own current information.
Kew has no market of its own that we could verify, so this guide is short and says where the real ones are. Two markets with official days, hours and addresses sit just over the boundary in Hawthorn, and two food shops on the Kew side cover the weekends in between: a greengrocer on High Street and a free-range butcher on Woodford Avenue. Four places, all checked on 2 October 2026.
Market day is the thing to get right, because the two markets run on different days. Hawthorn Makers Market is the first Sunday of the month. Boroondara Farmers Market is the 3rd and 5th Saturday. Those two rules decide your weekend, and both come from the council’s own pages.
The quick picks
| If you’re after | Head to | When it is listed |
|---|---|---|
| Handmade stalls, one Sunday a month | Hawthorn Makers Market | First Sunday of the month, March to December, 10am to 3pm |
| Fresh produce from growers | Boroondara Farmers Market | 3rd and 5th Saturday of the month, 8am to 12:30pm |
| A greengrocer on High Street | Toscano’s of Kew | Hours not confirmed |
| A free-range butcher | Cannings Free Range Butchers | Hours differ between sources |
Hawthorn Makers Market — 360 Burwood Road, Hawthorn VIC 3122
Market day: the first Sunday of the month, March to December, 10am to 3pm, at the Hawthorn Arts Centre near the corner of Glenferrie Road. The council’s listing gives Sunday 4 October, 1 November and 6 December 2026, and entry is a $2 donation.
What it is: a designer market, not a produce one. Its own page says it is committed to “Supporting local, independent artists and designers” and “Curating the best of Australian handcraft in one central marketplace”, and the council lists jewellery, bags, clothes, cards, furniture and hand-spun and woven items. Come for a gift, not the week’s shopping. The market’s page lists parking at the rear of the arts centre, off Kent Street or Oxley Road, and access by tram routes 16, 70 and 75 or a short walk from Glenferrie Station.
Cash or card: not stated.
The move: be there before 3pm with the $2 entry donation.
Boroondara Farmers Market — Patterson Reserve, 484 Auburn Road, Hawthorn VIC 3122
Market day: the 3rd and 5th Saturday of each month, 8am to 12:30pm, at Patterson Reserve or its car park. What’s On Boroondara adds that it does not run when there is a 5th Saturday in December. The next date on the council’s list on 2 October 2026 is Saturday 17 October.
What it is: a farmers market, so the growers do the selling. The council says it sells produce from small primary producers around Victoria, and its list of what you can buy runs from fresh fruit, vegetables and herbs to meat and smallgoods, honey, eggs, bread, olives, cakes and pastries, dips and sauces, wine and beer. That is a feed and the week’s shop in one lap. It is a dog-friendly morning too, if the council’s wording holds: “Bring the kids and your four-footed friends – everyone’s welcome!” The council runs it with the Rotary Club of Glenferrie, and says it is accredited by the Victorian Farmers’ Markets Association.
Cash or card: not stated.
The move: the market closes at 12:30pm, so make it a morning.
Toscano’s of Kew — 215-219 High Street, Kew VIC 3101
For the weeks with no market. The shop’s own site says “Family owned, since 1950”, and its OpenStreetMap entry tags it as a greengrocer, so this is the fruit and veg stop on High Street. The Kew Junction Business Association directory lists it at 215/219 High Street. Neither its own site nor the directory gives opening hours, so check before a special trip.
Cash or card: not stated.
The move: confirm the hours first, then go.
Cannings Free Range Butchers — 16 Woodford Avenue, Kew VIC 3101
For meat between markets. The brand’s own site says “It’s free range or nothing!”, and the Kew Junction directory lists the Kew shop at 16 Woodford Avenue. The sources disagree on hours. The directory lists Monday to Saturday 7am to 7pm, Sunday 8am to 7pm and public holidays 10am to 5pm, while the brand’s own site lists Monday to Friday 7am to 7pm, Saturday 7am to 6pm and Sunday 8am to 6pm for its stores generally, with the note “Some hours may vary across stores.” Confirm which applies before you drive over.
Cash or card: not stated.
The move: ring ahead for weekend hours, which is where the two sets differ.
Quick answers
Is there a market in Kew?
We found no market held in Kew itself. The two we could verify are in Hawthorn: Hawthorn Makers Market at 360 Burwood Road and Boroondara Farmers Market at 484 Auburn Road. Both publish official days and hours.
When is the Hawthorn Makers Market on?
On the first Sunday of the month, March to December, 10am to 3pm, at the Hawthorn Arts Centre. The council lists Sunday 4 October, 1 November and 6 December 2026, and entry is a $2 donation.
When is the Boroondara Farmers Market on?
On the 3rd and 5th Saturday of each month, 8am to 12:30pm, at Patterson Reserve, 484 Auburn Road, Hawthorn. The next date on the council’s list on 2 October 2026 is Saturday 17 October.
Which weekends have a market?
Hawthorn Makers Market runs the first Sunday of the month, March to December, 10am to 3pm; the council’s next listed dates are Sunday 4 October, 1 November and 6 December 2026. Boroondara Farmers Market runs the 3rd and 5th Saturday, 8am to 12:30pm, and the first date on the council’s list is Saturday 17 October 2026.
Where can I buy fresh food in Kew when there is no market?
Toscano’s of Kew, a greengrocer at 215-219 High Street, and Cannings Free Range Butchers at 16 Woodford Avenue. Check opening hours first: Toscano’s publishes none we could find, and Cannings’ sources disagree.
How we checked
On 2 October 2026 we read the council’s pages for both markets, the Hawthorn Makers Market’s own site, and each shop’s own site and Kew Junction directory listing. Market dates and times are as the council lists them and can change. One council page carries a typo in the farmers market’s postcode, so the 3122 above comes from a third-party listing (What’s On Boroondara) that prints the full address; a council market list calls the area Hawthorn East. Toscano’s hours appear only on OpenStreetMap, not on its own site or the directory, so we print none. Cannings’ hours conflict across three sources, so we print the two we can quote and say so. None of the pages we read states whether the stalls or shops take cash or card. The cover photo is illustrative, from Unsplash: it shows a bakery display case, not any of these places.
Seen something out of date? Email [email protected] with the page link and what has changed, and we will check it again.
Sources
- Hawthorn Makers Market: hawthornmakersmarket.org.au, the council’s event page and the Hawthorn Arts Centre page
- Boroondara Farmers Market: the council’s market page, its upcoming markets list and What’s On Boroondara
- Toscano’s of Kew: toscanos.com.au, the Kew Junction directory and OpenStreetMap
- Cannings Free Range Butchers: canningsbutchers.com.au, the Kew Junction directory and OpenStreetMap

